Dissertation Update – September 2013


The second year of the MA is now approaching fast.  One of the final pieces of work we needed to complete last term was our dissertation proposal.  I had been flirting with the idea of studying how trade unions use film in recruitment and campaigning but this plan has had to be shelved.

This was a tricky decision but ultimately a sensible one because I’m now focusing on an area that I’m really passionate about and I don’t have to go through the extra work of producing a documentary (even if that would have been fun).

Instead I will be researching rank and file networks in trade unions: why they spring up, how they succeed and how they fail.  I’m currently in the process of researching my literature review and also designing questionnaires and interview questions.  I’m hoping to have the questionnaires and interview questions nailed down and tested by the end of the month and then the next stages will be to carry on with the literature review and to begin interviewing people.  I’ve got a feeling that I’m soon going to have far too much information to handle so I’m also looking to get organised on how to manage the responses I get.

I’m heading back to college at the end of the month to find out how everybody else is getting on and to share ideas.  The next few weeks should see things advance a great deal.

Leave a Reply

